MACD Annual Meeting Info

The Mississippi Association of Conservation Districts will hold its 74th annual meeting in Jackson, Mississippi, January 23-24, 2019.

The meetings will feature traditional and cutting-edge conservation subjects, guest speakers, and entertainment.

Event Schedule

Wednesday, January 23, 2019

 8 AM               Registration

10 AM              Silent Auction Begins/Exhibitor Booths open

10 AM              Conservation Success Stories

11:30 AM         President’s Awards Luncheon

Presiding: Pete Hunter, President, MACD


State Envirothon Winner: Oxford High School – presented by

Envirothon Special Recognition Award

Poster & Essay Awards

Outstanding Teacher Awards

Outstanding Membership Drive Award

Newsletter Award

Photo Award

Friend of Conservation Award

Outstanding Cropland Conservationist

Outstanding Wildlife Conservationist

Outstanding Livestock Environmental Stewardship

Outstanding District in Woodland Conservation

MACD Endowment Scholarships/Grants

NRCS Earth Team Awards

2-4:30 PM       Opening Session

Presiding: Jerry Smith, First Vice President, MACD

Presentation of Colors:

National Anthem:

District Highlights

In Memoriam

Keynote Address:

4:45 PM           Silent Auction Closes for the Day

5:30 PM           Endowment/ Legislative Reception

6:30 PM           Live Auction


Thursday, January 24, 2019

7:30 AM           MACD Board Meeting

8:00 AM          Registration

8:00 AM          District Employees’ Breakfast/Business Meeting

9 – 9:50 AM    Concurrent Sessions

9:30 – 11 AM  MCDEA Education Session

10:00 AM        MARC&D

10:10 – 11 AM  Concurrent Sessions

11:30 AM         Commissioner’s Luncheon 

                           Presiding: Pete Hunter, President, MACD

Oath of Office: MS Supreme Court Justice

MACD Officer Elections

Commissioner Training

1 – 4:30 PM     MCDEA Training

1:45 PM           Silent Auction Closes

2:00    PM       General Session

Presiding: Anita Cowan Second Vice President, MACD


Featured Speaker

NACD Report: NACD Officer

4:)0 PM           Congressional Caucus, Districts

5:30 PM            Social

6:00 PM            Banquet

Presiding: Pete Hunter, President, MACD

Master of Cermonies: Clay Burns

District Employee of the Year

NRCS Employee of the Year

MACD Endowment Quilt Raffle

Commissioner of the Year

Commissioner Service Pins

Outstanding Legislators

MCDEA Raffle

President’s Award

Special Guest:, Robert St. John, Author, Restaurateur

MACD thanks the following sponsors for their generous support: Southern Ag Credit, First South Farm Credit, BankPlus, Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation, Alcorn State University,  Mississippi Conservation District Employees Association, Mississippi Association of Conservation Districts Auxiliary.


Pete Hunter, President

Jerry Smith, First Vice President

Anita Cowen, Second Vice President

Gary Blair, Past President

Melba Nipper, Secretary/Treasurer